This small town, whose name comes from Náhuatl language and means "fortified place", is characterized by cobbled streets and it was built on a vast archaeological site with reminds of Teotihuacan and Chichimeca culture and also Acolhua and Mexica, after centuries XII-XIII AD.
In 1925 the Directorate of Archaeology restarted the exploration work and so a wonderful pre-Hispanic building on a square basement was discovered, consisting of a wide staircase divided by a double balustrade and two twin temples at the top, dedicated, Tlaloc (god of water) and to Huitzilopochtli (god of war), very similar to Aztecs constructions such as "the Main Temple" of Tenochtitlan and "Tlatelolco". Its structure is composed of smaller ones corresponding to different periods. In total, they have found eight different stages.
The building displays various signs or petroglyphs, mainly in the steps of the west side, with different meanings and others that represent dates, and it is surrounded by a wall of snakes "coatenamitl" well preserved.